Pres in the Clarett 2Pre

AndyBonn

Hi guys, first time poster here. I'm just getting into recording some acoustic guitar and have picked up a pair of Oktava mk012s. Now i need an interface and have been looking at the Focusrite Clarett 2pre.

Could anyone who has had experience with this give me an indication of how the preamps sound? Would I get a decent sound out of them or is it better to spend a bit more money and buy standalone preamps? Looking for a nice warm sound but have a limited budget (up to 600US) I mainly play fingerstyle guitar but will also be micing up an amp from time to time.

Any feedback would be much appreciated :)

Pretty much any $500 range preamp/interface will be adequate for recording at a professional level.. But keep in mind, you may gain a bit with a $1500 preamp. But that is completely useless if you don't have a room worthy of it. Or monitors in a acoustically treated room to hear what you are recording.

Spend some time looking in to acoustic treatment man. It not that tough or expensive. Depends on how serious you are....

I bet it gets tiring hearing the same shit over and over, but there is a reason for it. Treat the fucking room or record at a studio that has done that.

You will be amazed at how $400 in acoustic treatment will beat a $1500 preamp. Been there, done that. Like 18 times over...

Oh, and then there is the audio monitors you are listening on. Not even going to go there because you didn't ask. But, that is likely second before any preamp or mic. Kinda like the top 2 most important ever. Aside from the other obvious stuff like having talent and a good instrument to record.

It all really depends on what you are looking to accomplish and how good you wish it to sound.

In the end, it is about creating and having fun!