Overwhelming number of Cakewalk users here at homerecording...

imnotdeafyet

I didn't realize how popular Cakewalk was. I've been using it for years, but didn't know I had so much company. how many of you have tried other daw's, and why did you decide on Cakewalk?

What numbers are those? Some poll, I guess? Out of the really active users here - I'd say that Cubase and Reaper are about neck and neck, with Reaper moving up, from what I've seen.

I've been using a Cakewalk DAW since 2000, but I also use Reaper, and I still have Emagic Logic 5.5.1 loaded on an XP partition which I use on occasion.

I've also tried Nuendo and Studio One, which is pretty nice and I might start using it more.

But most of my experience is with Sonar... I've used all versions from v2 through X1d.

Started out with 7, well a buddy had 7, that's what I learned on. I bought 8.5 and upgraded to X1 Producer Expanded. Before Cakewalk I tried Krystal, a free bee. I tried the Pro Tools that came with my 1st interface, some m-powered stuff, tried Reaper, tried Cube Base that came with my Tascam, deleted it off HD after a couple hours. I guess what you learn on is always easiest to use. I like my Cakewalk. It may not be the "Best" but it's the best for me.

Hi Peeps... another Cakewalk fan here. I got Cakewalk 3 bundled with a Creative Labs sound card so many years ago I just can't remember. I entered the Sonar world at V5 and upgraded to V6. But then I disappeared off the music making radar for a bit, and now I'm back and getting to grips with X1 Expanded. I think the new GUI, with Multidock, is an excellent innovation from Cakewalk, and I am really enjoying getting back into it again :^)

Cakewalk fan here as well. I started off with Sonar 7 just like a lot of users. Once it went 64-Bit, that's when I officially left Pro Tools behind. Nowadays I use it on and off since I started to learn how to use Presonus, but I can't deny it's greatness.