Noticing many microphones are 600 ohms, that mean anything?

LazerBeakShiek

Rad Racing Team
Was there ever an industry standard for microphones to have 600 ohms resistance?

Some rack equipment I use recommends the use of a 600 ohm microphone. Whats the reasoning?
khblu.jpg

If I build a passive resistance box with XLRs and a rheostat to change the ohms, how would that change the vocal sound? If I dialed in more resistance what would that sound be? High cut or low cut? or somehow lo fi'd... ? It would have to adjust the volume somewhat..overdrive it?

a tonestack like guitar controls is capacitance. Changing resistance would effect tone less than leveI, I imagine..

Last edited:
I have no personal knowledge to offer - just some stuff I dug up :

The physics is getting mangled. The aim of any circuit is to get what is sent, intact at the point is is received. In the early 20th Century the aim was telephones - getting audio down telephone wires. They were doing it with telegraph technology and a variation of Morse code, and then needed audio. The history sort of set standards. Piezo AKA crystal mics were common as were crystal pickups for 33 and 45rpm records. These things were naturally very high impedance. Mr Ohm determined many of the properties of electrical transmision with others and we have impedance, resistance, capacitance and inductance components that impact the maths. The upshot is fairly simple. high impedance sources work fine into their amplifiers designed for high impedance sources, and what comes out of the record play pickup,crystal mic or even a guitar manages to get to the amp OK, as long as the cable is short. Make it longer and the addded capacitance makes a low pass filter - you have created a cable that reduces treble!