newbie with BR1200 CD in the woodshed with questions

johnnycake slim

Hello
happy I found this site...I'm a newbie here and a novice as a recorder and my audience is always asking for my cd after performance, the last recording i did was with a cassette 4 track in the eighties. I own a BR 1200 and i suppose before i die i need to get a new cd done!!!! I understand the BR series is about as simple as it gets and the recording sounds good but i like the idea of using my computer to actually see and manipulate the files. I am working with a local assistant who knows computers but not the BR series and I'm trying to save some money by doing as much as i can myself (good luck right??) I just called Roland customer service and they explained using the data save button or making a wave file cd to export to computer from the BR.
so i guess I'm on the right track... as far as using my laptop to work with my BR, What software should I be looking at? is there free audio recording software out there? A friend gave me audacity years ago that i have on my old desktop but I've only used it to convert wavs to mp3's for export...is audacity a program that i can put my recorded music together on? are there good tutorials out there??..thanks