newb alert... LOL

CycleDude

Hey everyone, my name is Kevin and I'm a drummer. I'm looking to learn about recording gear and techniques. Not looking to go pro, but just for my own wnjoyment and for making web videos for sharing with my friends & family.

I'm just starting out at this. My MAC laptop has Garage Band, and I have 3 dynamic Nady SP-5 mics coming in the mail, but I still need to get a mixer.

Since the mics are dynamic, can I plug them into the 1/4" line inputs of a mixer since they don't need phantom power, or do I still need to connect them to an XLR input?

LOL, no, not yet. The mics are coming in the mail. I was asking on a drum forum and someone recommended I come here.

So could I use an xlr to 1/4" cable for a dynamic mic or would there be an impedance issue? I don't wanna buy the wrong cords or buy adapters that I don't need.

If your mic cables are 20 feet long or less then the 1/4 cables should be fine. If you need to use longer cables or link 2 or more together you will be better off using XLR cables.

This maybe off topic, but how are you planning on getting your sound recorded to your computer? built in line input? interface? The reason that I ask is that you may not need a mixer. You may want an audio interface.

OK lemme rephrase my intentions....

The Plan

I want to mic my drum kit for home recordings and possibly playing out in a band. I have 3 dynamic cardoid Nady SP-5 mics so far but will get more eventually. I know that they're not great mics, but I have 3 kids so my music budget is slim.

I was planning on getting a mixer to break down each drum to it's own track, so track 1 would be bass drum, 2 would be snare, 3 would be the two rack toms, 4 would be the two floor toms, and 5 & 6 would be ambient room sounds and cymbals. That's 6 mics total.

This is where I get confused....

Since the mics are dynamic, can I use an XLR to 1/4" cable, since most small mixers usually have twice the amount of 1/4" inputs to XLR inputs?