New Mics or a new pre?

ReInventor

Hello everyone,

First let me say this is a long post, but I promise all information is relevant and I get to the point eventually - thanks for indulging.

I've been here for a little while now, but haven't really introduced myself. I'm not really new to recording, as I have a degree in Recording Industry Production and Technology from Middle Tennessee State. This by no means implies that I know everything about recording, quite the contrary. I think that I got a good solid foundation in recording theory at school that needs to be supplemented by earned experience. I've actually done more session playing than recording at this point.

Anyway, to my post...

I AM somewhat new to budget home recording. I've had the opportunity to use some really cutting edge gear during my studies and now I'm slowly building my own home studio. Very slowly.

Right now I use a Lexicon I-onix u22. I purchased it because I wanted a simple, inexpensive solution to record my own music. It has dbx pres in it that are supposed to be pretty clean. I also have two mics at the moment - an MXL 2001 and no name dynamic handheld that I use on guitar cabs.

A short word about my musical style: I have a pretty versatile music background and range from moody pop a la non-schizophrenic Radiohead to progressive metal (sorta...). I do mainly a rock band setup with bass, drums, multiple guitars and vocals. I will add keys when the occasion calls for it. I like to have a variety of guitar sounds on any given song, and I like them to be warm and full bodied. Here's where the problem comes in.

I like the sound I'm hearing in the room, but it isn't translating all that well. It sounds sterile to my ears. It isn't bad really, just not great. I'm looking to upgrade and wondering opinions on what to get.

I've got about $300 to spend and was think of either getting a few new mics or a new preamp.