My First Song!! Awww....

aidan_m

Budding Rock Star!
Hi People,

I'd appreciate views on my first home recording... After the recent demise of my band I decided to go it alone and this is my first attempt... All performaces and recording/production by little old me! Comments appreciated..

Recorded using pro tools m-powered on mac book pro.

Drum mics:
Mics used for the drums are:

Kik: Shure Beta 52
Snare Top: Shure SM57
Snare Bottom: Sennheiser clip on with 24 dB attenuator
Rack Tom: Sennheiser clip on
Floor Tom: Sennheiser clip on
OH1: MSH1 with a 12dB attenuator
OH2: MSH1 with a 12dB attenuator

Guitars:

All guitars were recorded using a Gibson Les Paul, bass was recorded using a Fender Precision. All guitars were recorded using a naiant DI directly into a SM Pro Audio PR8e preamp connected to an M-Audio firewire 1814 into Pro Tools M-Powered. Any guitar fx were done using Guitar Rig 2 and then recorded to new tracks.

Vocals:

Vocals were recorded using a Shure c606.

the lead at the beginning is really buried--definitely need to bring up the volume.
vox are pretty low too, but more so in the beginning than at the end.
i think the drums and guitar sound really good--nice snare sound. if the drums need anything, it's more presence in the kick and more attack in the toms.
guitars sound nice--i especially like the distorted guitars kicking in when the song gets "big." that's the best-produced part of the song imo. the clean picked guitar could sit in the mix better than it does (kinda fades here and there), but the tone is really nice and warm as is, so i'd hate to add any eq bite. i'd play with panning to bring it out.
overall, nice job! i like the song too--looking forward to hearing more from you. :)

Aidan,

I really like the songwriting. Production-wise the drums sound good. Alot of it sounds really muddy and undefined. It also doesn't sound like you are belting it out and are just holding it back (singing wise).

Neall