mr8 black

douglas662

can you take out the compact flash put it in the pc and then slect each individual track and mix with mixing software? I am new to the pc/digital era of recording sorry:eek:

You may need to download (free) Wavmanager from the Fostex International site or from fostexsupport.com.

This will deal with the Fostex recording at track level. For a stereo .wav file, direct downloading will do.

The manual strongly discourages copying anything but the stereo mixdown WAV file. Bad things will supposedly happen if you do.

The MR8 is designed to download to a PC.
The recommended method is to set up the USB connection and to download the tracks using WavManager - otherwise how can you edit your tracks using a PC based editor?
As an MR16 owner, I admit I do not know what would be the effect of reading the Compact Flash card in your PCs card reader but removing a CF card from the MR8 and reading it in a PC reader should be possible. If all else fails just re-format the card.

Look at the sidebar titled <important note> on page 89 of the owner's manual. My PDF reader won't let me copy and paste it, and I'm not going to type it all out here. Basically, it says the MR-8 will malfunction if you export from any folder other than the "2 MIX" folder on the CF card.

I have a black one, but I don't think it's the Mk II. It has 4 cursor keys like the red one instead of a knob like the Mk. II.

The MR-8 was produced back in the days of ME/2000/XP, but maybe Wave Manager will work on Windows 7. The manual only says it won't work on non-Windows systems. It's worth a try.

ty very much...............i am still lost as to why you have to bounce over to 7/8 to get the export to work on a pc

WavManager has been loaded onto Windows 7 and has worked OK.