Mic'd recordings of Acoustic guitar using PODfarm?

JamEZmusic

Is it standard practice to record an acoustic guitar and then run that recording into PODfarm for a better acoustic sound? I can't really get a nice recording with my current guitars just using the normal EQ/Compression/Reverb techniques, does anyone here run amp simulators such as the ones in PODfarm to shape the Acoustic guitar?

I know this is a veeery basic question, I have little experience with mic recordings and I am struggling getting a good mix.

How normal is it to run steel string acoustic recordings through VST's like PODfarm? or even GuitarRig? I know that it's for electric guitar mainly but will it help my mix? Or hurt it?

Or is it something I should stay away from!

while I'm here, I am trying to cover Silent Hill - Not Tomorrow 1 (Long Version) - YouTube this song, the rhythm guitar is Arpeggiated all the way through, how would you guys go about recording something to sound as close to this as possible? So am I correct in assuming that I can take these steps to get close to that sound

Rhythm Guitar (Steel String (arps))
2 takes, layer each one pan hard left + right

Mic 6 - 10 inches away from 12th fret using a "cardoid condenser mic"

EQ just a little, low and high pass filters to take out boom and extreme highs, take out some mud at 240hz etc.

Compression on each track, 3:1 or 2:1 ratio very subtle

Reverb, 2 second decay time, very easy on the wet mix, big room, no high or low cuts.

Lead Guitar(Steel String (will be replacing the oboe section with this))
1 take, but 2 mics. One below soundhole in between the bridge and the hole and the other mic... errr in this neck area? lol

Same as before with EQ, except maybe a boost from 8khz upwards of 2 or 3 db's.

Compression, hardly anything. Mainly I will use Volume automation if I attack a string too hard and want to tame it.

Reverb, 4secs decay, moderately used