Mic and Preamp for under $200 or USB Mic?

vignesh1230

Mic and Interface for under $200 or USB Mic?

Im really new to this stuff, and i really dont know whats needed in a setup for a vocalist. I dont have much money to spend but id like it to last me a reasonable amount of time.

Im thinking of either getting a AKG Perception 120 USB, AT2020 USB mic.

Not really sure about what i would need for a setup that involves an XLR mic. Im not too fussed about having a jack to plug headphones into the mic.. But would probably just be a bonus(not sure)

I actually have a dynamic mic, but i tried plugging it straight into my computer with the supplied XLR to 3/4 Mono adapter cable, but the signal is really weak, and if i amplify it i get alot of noise but just a tiny amount of actual audio (Only like bass hits). Dont know if i need some kind of phantom power source.

Id really like some help. I would like to go for a XLR setup but have no idea how to go about it.

Last edited:
hi

Hi vignesh!
You seem to be an Indian !

Just to let you know I was at same stage a year before !
Well so I thought of helping you out because at my time, I spent huge time while searching for setup.

firstly, You dont need a preamp... You need interface.
I have scarlett 2i2 ..... (bought it for 108$ via ebay). never got disappointed with it.

Then you need a microphone.... best recommendation would be Shure sm58. Dont ever bring a idea in your mind that Condenser mics are better than dynamic. they just are more sensitive and u would need soundproof room. Other than that ... there is no difference. Other startup mic recommendation would be at2020 or at2035 ! ( I have at2035 ... i use it for Voice overs .. its little on brighter side so It doesn't suit my voice) but as far as mic is concerned its really good.

setup info : you can plug scarlett to computer via usb cable ( comes with interface) . Then you can join you Dynamic mic cable (xlr) into scarlett interface.
You are good to go .

Best of luck .