Looking for feedback on cover of Cheap Trick "Surrender"

rsilverst

Hi there!

I registered for this forum a few years ago, but am just getting back into the home recording again, starting up with Logic Pro X (previously was a ProTools user). I would love to have feedback on this mix that I did.

https://soundcloud.com/bob-silverstein/surrender

A few notes just for your reference:

* All tracks performed by me
* Drums were programmed (probably obvious)
* Post-mix, I did a little bit of "mastering" in Logic using Linear Phase EQ, Spread, Compressor (not multiband), Adaptive Limiter

I'm open to any and all suggestions.

Thanks very much!
Bob

Great playing. There's some kind of edit stutter at the beginning. The mix is dark. I like the beefy sound of the rhythm guitars and bass, but they are too loud. They are drowning out the details of your drum kit--I'm not hearing your hi hats--as well as your lead guitar and keyboard parts.

Yep. No high end in the mix and drums are not prominent. Performance is really good. Just not coming through as a mix yet.

:)

everything Robus said. great cover! isn't there more energy on "mommy's alright" in the original? Is there a cymbal there, or something on the first beat adding to the section change? great job though

edit: add those harmonies in the chorus endings. i hear some, vaguely, in the third verse. kind of buried though

Great playing. There's some kind of edit stutter at the beginning. The mix is dark. I like the beefy sound of the rhythm guitars and bass, but they are too loud. They are drowning out the details of your drum kit--I'm not hearing your hi hats--as well as your lead guitar and keyboard parts.

Thanks all for the feedback. I will give it another pass. To me, I was concerned the mix was too *bright* rather than too dark, so I was being sheepish about treble. My main mixing tools are Yamaha HS80M and Sennheiser HD535 headphones.