Just scored a Martin!

noiseportrait

I'm so excited that I just had to brag for a moment. I just scored a Martin today... for free!

There had been this vintage Martin guitar floating around in my family for ages that rightfully belonged to my mother. It had somehow ended up at the wrong end of the family because of some mix ups and they didn't want to give it back because of sentimental attachment. My mother never really cared to pursue it until I bugged her about it a good number of years ago when I started playing guitar. They didn't want to give up the instrument, so I dropped the issue and never thought about it again. Well, I guess they finally decided that now didn't need it anymore, and they gave it to my mother the other day when they were visiting. Total Surprise! Now it's mine!

I looked up the serial numbers and it dates to 1951! It's well worn, lot's of nics and dings, but no major damage. The neck seems to be in decent shape, but it does need a fret job badly. Is it even a good idea to get fretwork done on a guitar on a guitar this old? I'm not much of an acoustic guy, but I would like to get it in good playing shape. There's no way I could sell it, so I might as well use it right? Is there anything I should know about caring for this thing? It's scares me to even touch it, I hope I can give it a good home.

Hell yeah it would benefit from a refret!

Don't be skeered. Just love it like you would love any other great instrument.

Find a decent repair guy and have him go over it, refret it, and set it up. Don't be surprised if it needs a neck reset. That's not uncommon on older Martins. Have your repair guy check for braces coming unglued, and also for hairline cracks in the sides. Guitars from that era were assembled with hide glue, so keep that guitar out of sun and heat.

Whatever you do, don't have it refinished.

Then enjoy it for the rest of your life!

Totally Awesome