Is my computer outgunned?

HapiCmpur

Because I'm new to DAW recording, I recently bought a DAW bundle from Guitar Center on the assumption that somebody put some thought into assembling components that would actually work well together. Not so sure about that anymore.

I may be misinterpreting the problem, but it appears that the Mac mini at the heart of the bundle is just barely powerful enough to run Pro Tools MP 9, and therefore it cannot handle the addition of any major plug-ins. The system crashes every time I try to get it to play a loop clip imported from the Steven Slate Essentials drum program that came with the bundle. In fact, the drum program won't even audition sounds without a lot of hang-ups and cut-outs, as if the Mac mini is being overwhelmed by the processing demands.

The Mac mini specs are: 2.3GHz Intel Core i5 with 500GB internal HD and 2GB RAM. To me, that sounds powerful, but the results suggest otherwise. Do you think that adding a pair of 4 GB memory modules (maximum possible) will solve the problem, or will that just allow me to run two plug-ins instead of one?

For the record, I've already maxed out my H/W Buffer and CPU Usage Limit in the Playback Engine settings window, and when the system crashes I'm not running anything other than one track of Pro Tools and the SSD4 Essentials application.

Hi there,
Your problem is most likely going to be a software/driver issue, or an issue with settings and configuration.

Your computer is the same spec as my MBP, except you have 2gb ram instead of the 4 I have.

Now, there's no denying that 4gb is a sensible and worthwhile upgrade, but your setup should still be ticking along nicely to a point.

CPU usage limit is a funny one. People often recommend setting it to the one below the highest. Usually 95%.
My experience has shown this to be a better choice. Don't ask me to explain it! :p

In day to day work is your computer OK?