Introduction: My struggle with home recording

Hello everybody.

If you couldn't tell by my UN, I'm really having it tough with trying to record music at home. Can't even begin to describe my frustration. I'm on the verge of giving up.

I started learning about recording about 2 years ago when I purchased Studio One 5 as part of a bundle with a blue yeti mic I bought. Since then I've gradually been learning more and more about how to use the DAW, plugins, how to record etc...

Right now I'm trying to write and record my first complete song, after which I hope to keep going until I've got a complete album. I'm sticking to strictly VST plugins for this project since I feel mic'ing amps is a whole nother artform in itself to learn.

But here's the problem. It's not that I don't know how to use the DAW or any of the equipment. I'm fairly well-versed on that stuff now. My problem is that I just can't seem to get anything to sound good. Everything I've ever tried to record just sounds like utter crap no matter what I do.

I've tried everything it seems. I've bought every amp sim out there for my guitar you can think of (Amp Room, STL, ML, Neural DSP, Amplitube, etc...). Nothing ever sounds right.

Every time I export something it just sounds like a muddled, flubby, wonky mess. Nothing ever sounds crisp, clear, tight, up front, etc...

The guitar sound is always brittle, muddy, and just terrible.

I'm trying to write as I record. I want program a groove, hit record, start playing, and listen back to myself until something catches my ear, then go from there until I've got a song going.

The genre I'm playing is like hard rock metal similar to Van Halen and other bands of that era. I'm going for a specific tone and sound, which I never seem to get.

Everything I write sounds weird when I play it back, which makes me wonder whether I just don't know how to compose music properly, or if the DAW just makes things sound so bad and weird that nothing comes out like it should.