how many SM57's do you own?

dix0r

i know that there are a lot of people who own more than one, but would you ever need more than one at a time if you were doing each instrument separately?

and i'm a newbie, in case that wasn't obvious. plenty more questions like this coming soon :]

thanks,

-mike

I s'pose you could use them to mic in stereo, though I have other mics for that. And they could be used as an overhead AND a tom mic on your drums, or even as a pedal mic, though there are plenty of better choices.

I believe, in the killer mic thread, Harvey even recommended a pair of 57's for Leslie miking, plus a 421 for the bass rotor.

BTW, I have two, plus a 58.

i have two of the aforementioned 545's as well as two sm58s at my disposal.

combined with two sennheiser e835's, i've got plenty of options along a similar flavor.

as stated elsewhere around here, you can stick an sm57 in front of just about anything and get a "usable" sound......not a great sound, but you can use it. i like to have a few on hand just in case....

wade

dix0r
i know that there are a lot of people who own more than one, but would you ever need more than one at a time if you were doing each instrument separately?

well as mentioned you could use a bunch of them on a drumkit.. for example.. snare (top+bottom), rack-toms (maybe the floor tom, too?) - and you already have 4-5 in use :D

None. I dig LD Condensors.

Wanna get into SD Condensors (someday) too. After a plethora of other upgrades.:)

Would LOVE a matched pair of QTC-1's!

I have 4.

The most I've used lately is 3-on drums, but I could concieve of using more, [on drums]. But, if/when recording a band or live ensemble, as many as possible is not too many.

4 SM57s is enough for my needs, for the most part, but I'd get more if I got the notion.;)

One.

Am impressed with how well a SM57 (Or 545 series) will
sound with good placement, and/or EQing, on most vocals.

They are underestimated, partly because of the pre's used