How many mic's do you record your drums with, and what drum mics do you own

i figure this could be a little fun

I use 9 mic's normally

sm57 [snare]
2 at2020 [overhangs]
1 at2021 [hi hat]
4 samson tom mics [toms]
d6 kick [kick]

I've got to say for the price, this set up is amazing. These mic's all are basically discount price, and sound professional as can be.

Right now, I use 4....603's as overheads, e609 kick, and 58 for snare...but I just started playing drums, so it's all pretty new to me.

7 total.

Pair of MXL 603's as overheads in X/Y configuration
Beyer M201 on snare
(2) SM57 - one on each rack tom
Audio Technica ATM25 on floor tom
EV RE20 on kick

EDIT: Occasionally I'll also use a pair of MSH-1 as room mics, bringing the total up to 9.

Last edited:
i only really record drums at the moment as demos, so i've been using the recorderman (i think) technique with just two overheads and a kick mic... i appreciate my brother being good, and being able to give me more of whatever part of the kit i think i'll need in the final mix, hehe.

most i've used is 6... 2 OH, Kick, Snare Rack tom and floor tom, i think.

Andrew.

Superlux FK2 on kick
ES-57 on snare
either 2 MXL 603's or 2 Superlux CM-H8A (if I'm feeling saucy) on overheads
3 CAD M37's for rack toms
2 CAD M177 on floor toms
Nady TCM1100 as a room mic
8" sub kick mic

What?:)

7. Cad-Pro 7 pc kit. Not the best mics, but they're not terrible.
O/H's in the recorderman config.

I like big toms and a wide drum stereo field. I mix my drums from the drummers perspective because thats how I like it. My methods may not be the most popular, but I like it, and it's my stuff, so thats how it is. Everything is close mic'd and the song dictates how much close mic'ing I mix in with the O/H's.

I mix my drums from the drummers perspective because thats how I like it. My methods may not be the most popular, but I like it, and it's my stuff, so thats how it is.

Ok brother, relax. Everything's cool. :D :D:D:p