How does everybody get a headphone?

Stanbery

I have a few 4 and 8 track cassette recorders (Fostex XR-5 & Tascam Portastudio 488) and I'm interested in recording some of my friends bands. I'm pretty comfortable with using the machine, but for the moment I would like to know how every member of the band can wear a pair of headphones and hear each other all at the same time while laying down their tracks? Assuming they want to do their basic tracks live...

Thanks!

Hi there,
Assuming the units have a single headphone output, you'd need a multichannel headphone amp and a TRS-TRS patch cable.

On a budget you can get a little behringer HA-400.
Everyone hears the same thing but they each have a volume control.

Regardless of hardware, giving everyone their own mix relies on your being able to "get at" individual sources, i.e. direct outs or inserts.

Dave.

one more thing. I've not done this yet, but the next time I track w/ a full band (I'm a hobbyist so I don't do this very often) I'm going to double mic sources and feed that just for the headphone mix. 1 set of mics to go into the DAW, and the others to go into a separate mixer to drive the headphone mix. I figure I can do this with some cheapy extra mics and not have to deal with all the routing - and just add in the stereo mix from the DAW back to the headphone mix along w/ the second set of mics. I have no idea if it'll work OK, but dealing with all the routing gets on my nerves.