Home Recording & Audiofanzine

Psycom

Administrator
Dear HR members,

As you have probably read, David, alias Dragon, has decided to let the Audiofanzine team manage the HR website, and so we need to give you more information about what is going on so you will be part of the adventure.

These last few years, David did not really have time to develop the website like he wanted to (this happens often when you do your website apart from your regular work). When we started talking, we discussed Home Recording's history, and about Audiofanzine, and David got really enthusiastic about the synergy we could have between the great HR community and the work from Audiofanzine's team.

Audiofanzine beginning

First of all, let me introduce myself. I'm Philippe. I started playing the piano when I was 6 years old and then started composing different types of music in my home studio when I was 14. In 1999, I wanted to make my own album without any label, and that turned out to be a very difficult but rewarding experience. When I was finished making this first album, I decided to share my experience in order to help other musicians.

That is how Audiofanzine started.

How it became a (small) company

At that time, I was finishing my studies in Computer Engineering and I worked on Audiofanzine just as a hobby. I watched as some other similar websites came and went, dying out because their webmasters became too busy with their everyday life, families, jobs, etc.

At the same time, I realized how important Audiofanzine was to me, and that I don't want to ever stop Audiofanzine because of another job or anything else! I wanted to put more content, to develop features, etc… Then it was obvious that I needed permanent people working on it with me, and for this reason, my personal website had to become a company and I had to find a business model. As you will see later, this never changed my philosophy, which remains to help musicians to achieve their goals.