Hey, my son can record the choir.

Blckjck

Hello all, thank you for sharing all the info I've been trying to process over the past few days on the forum.

I am a mobile DJ/KJ that has occasionally done some live sound reinforcement. I have been doing this for about five years. I have spent a lot of time learning about gain structure, levels, and such. I have always strived to learn as much as I can about something so I can do it right.

My mother is in a 20-25 member choir. They are doing a performance at a VA hospital. The room is 20 x 30 and they will be in a semi circle along a 20ft wall. I do not know the room acoustics or ceiling height. She asked me to provide PA for the accompanying music. Then a keyboard got added. The last addition was that they would like a recording of it.

I went back and forth between running my passive gear or active gear. For the size room I am going to run 2 Mackie SRM450 with no sub. I'm not spinning any electro house (pout). I am thinking that the choir will not need and PA itself.

My plan is to run the music source, keyboard, choir mic, and an announcement mic into my Mackie CFX12. From there I will take an aux send from each mic, and the two music sources from a set of subout's. These will go into my Tascam 788.

I only have dynamic mic's. The best of the lot is a wireless Shure SM58. The next in line is a wireless AKG HT40. The Shure has a much better gain.

I would like to use the AKG for announcements. The Shure I plan to put on a boom 8ft up and away from the choir. I will also be attaching a Tascam DR-03 under the Shure as a backup.

Anyone have any thoughts? Am I way off on this plan?