Help w/speaker wire connection pos vs. neg

Hi,

I picked up a beat to death and non-working Peavey Combo 300 amp today and thought I am a complete wiring electronics newb, I was able to find a broken connection and solder it back. So now it's working! Woohoo!

The only problem is, when I was taking it apart I didn't pay attention to which speaker wire went to negative and which went to positive.

One wire is yellow and one is blue. I put the blue on the negative and it works, but I want to make sure that is right so I don't fry the thing.

Thanks for you help!

Last edited:
The wire that goes to the tip of the plug goes to the positive connection of the speaker....the wire from the sleeve goes to the negative.

The wire that goes to the tip of the plug goes to the positive connection of the speaker....the wire from the sleeve goes to the negative.

I think these pics will give you a better idea of what I'm working with.

speakerconnectors1.jpg

wiring1.jpg

The ends of the twined yellow and blue wires go into the positive/negative clips on the speaker. I want to make sure I'm putting them back into the right ones.

Thanks for your help!

It doesn't matter which one, an analog audio signal does not have any polarity, it is AC. There is no such thing as the "right" way, Whichever way Peavey designated which color lead went to which terminal was arbitrary, and it can't hurt anything either way you put them. If there are 2 or more speakers, they all need to be wired the same way so that they are all in phase - meaning all cones are pushing out and pulling in, in unison. If one is out of phase with another, one cone will be pushing out while the other is pulling in, the result being that they are cancelling each others actions, and the 2 speakers together will actually be quieter than if there was just one. Some freq's will be cancelled more than others, and that will cause in a hollow thin sound.

It doesn't matter which one...