Got to use a Neumann for the first time

santiu

Rock-scientist
As a hobbyist, I don't really get access to fancy gear like Neumann mics. But the vocalist i recorded over the weekend had her own mic which was a TLM-103 which she had never used before. It may be on the low end of the Neumann line, but it was the most amazing vocal mic I've used so far on a female acoustic/jazz vocalists. In the past I had recorded her with a Rode NT2a (she didn't think to bring her mic last time), and while I thought that sounded good at the time, in comparison the Rode just doesn't sound that good now :( The Neumann was so smooth and pleasant and easy to mix. Just a touch of compression and a pinch of verb and it sits right into the mix at any volume.

Not sure why i posted this... I guess I'm still giddy and needed to share with people who can relate (my roommates were of no help in this regard :p).

Quality gear will do that to ya.

And it starts a long and never-ending quest which you must resist going towards padawan.

at which point you will move from homerecording.com to gearslutz.com and be forever lost in a sea of tubes, fets, transformers and opto-isolators.

Don

the TLM-103 used to be an option for the home recorder..I think they went used for $500, maybe less..

its pretty sad that when lower cost options like MXL and SP came into play, Neumann's went further from reach..

My experience with a U-87 was dramatically underwhelming.

When I was finally able to go shopping for higher-end mics I ended up with Sennheiser and Beyerdynamic (also German mics like Neumann, go figure).

There are some Neumann mics I'd love to have, but they are either some vintage ones no longer made, or they are ridiculously out of budget (like getting a pair of M150's at about $6k each).