Fast Track Ultra?

nickporter

Okay, so I am an extreme newbie at recording (this is my first post), and I've been looking to upgrade to something that actually sounds decent. After looking on this forum and a few other places, I thought that the Fast Track Ultra would be perfect for what I need to do. However, after looking at reviews and reading M-Audio's fora, I'm seeing that there are a lot of hardware/software issues with it. I'm pretty recently out of college and can't afford to throw away $300 on a nonworking product. Can anyone shed some insight on this product or recommend a suitable alternative? I'd like to be able to record vocals, an electric guitar and a bass simultaneously if possible which was why I was looking at the FT Ultra instead of the Pro, for instance.

Thanks,
Nick

cl had one for $175...but there's others brand new at $200, tascam 1641 and us 800 are around $200.... I have a 122 that works fine, for $50 but with a live band at times a inimum 6 in/6out would be nice.

seems all these have such mixed opinions, from "fine" to "sucks"

I just started a home studio and got the fast track ultra. plugged into a mac running logic pro studio it is working great I have been nothing but pleased with how simple it is and how good it sounds.

I have the Fast Track Ultra running into an Imac with pro tools 9. It hasn't given me any problems at all. I record each track individually though so I can't speak to recording multiple tracks simultaneously. I have done a lot of stereo mic'ing though and it works great. Good sound reproduction, and its built pretty solid. All in all I'd say about the best for the price, at least by my research and experience.

I use the FT Ultra and it works beautifully. no problem using pro tools 8. I love it, great quality and size for the price. also very sturdy. I'd recommend it.

The Fast Track Ultra is a good machine.
In fact, anything from the Fast Track Pro and up.