dust

elly-d

hi, i am pretty new to recording with tape. i have done a couple of projects on my e-16.

ok so i guess when the tape runs it always makes some 'dust' but how much is it supposed to make? the problem i am having is the outer tracks 1-2 and 15-16 seem to be affected by this (maybe some scraping) and its very visible on the pinch roller with two orange lines appearing after a few minutes play. after an hour of record and playback the high ends stop coming through and a cleandown is needed. its happen with every tape i have used so far (rgmi911 and quantegy 456) so is it sticky shed or bad rollers or what? i always clean thoroughly between tapes and from day to day. any ideas?

I have this problem on my Fostex R8 with Ampex 457.

I've heard that RMG tape doesn't do this though...

This is not sticky shed. Sticky shed is gummy/sticky...hence sticky shed.

How old is the tape you are using?

The first place I would check is the tape path alignment and for any rough or sharp edges in the path, especially on the guides.

If you look closely and systematically along the tape path you should be able to see where the problem is.

How worn are the heads? If your heads are worn/grooved and (not being familiar with the E-16 heads) there aren't cutouts at the edge of the tape path on the heads to keep the tape from riding around in a groove as the tape wears that can cause it too. Look at your heads. Are there little slots cut in the heads at the "top" and "bottom" of the heads?

yep i didnt think it was sticky shed, but it is excessive shed. it was set up and calibrated by a guy that knows what hes doing and i trust him, although it could have been knocked out of alignment in transit. i suspect the first guide actually, but i will check tomorrow. the tape is brand new and it happens with the quantegy and the rgmi. its the fact that it builds up so quick and affects the sound that bothers me.