Dear Fellow Sonar 5 Studio Users...

Synkrotron

I've been running Sonar 5 Studio for 3 months or so now and I'm wondering if I should start to seriously consider purchasing some serious (well... within my tight budget) plugins.

What would you use/recommend?

andy

What direction do you want to go with your music? What will your system support? We need more information in order to give you some valid help.

I use a couple of Voxengo plugs: Elephant and Gliss EQ, and then I use the Sonitus stuff in Sonar alot, those are actually quite good. I've heard good things about the UAD Plugs, but have never used them. I used the Waves stuff a couple of times in a studio, but don't actually own them myself. They seemed pretty sweet, but that was a while back. So for me, it's my Voxengo's and Sonitus Plugs.

The UAD-1 is not a plug,it's a processing card that you can run their plugs on.
It's a bit expensive,but top notch.Also because it does it's own processing,it's kind of like a computer upgrade,freeing up resources for other functions.

What kind of plugs were you looking for?

Have youy tried the freebies?

Jaybee said:
We need more information in order to give you some valid help.

Indeed, you are correct...

I was thinking along the lines of effects for both mixing (adding reverb, delay, chorus, EQ and perhaps a little compression) and mastering (multi-band compression, limiting, normalising, stereo enhancement etc.).

cawhite12 said:
I use a couple of Voxengo plugs

yeah... I was there last night having a look around their site having been sent there in another thread about a frequency analyser. I downloaded the Stereo Touch plugin but couldn't really get to grips with it to be honest. I decided then that going for free plugins may not be a good idea. I notice that Elephant and Gliss EQ are not freebies so I'm assuming that they would be better quality... or am I wide of the mark here? It may be that I just need to experiment with the Stereo Touch plugin a bit more.