Changing guitar strings

mx_mx

Does anybody know any good sights showing how to properly change guitar strings? Preferably video, but good pictures would be enough. Ive been playing for 7 years and this is something ive never been able to do. My strings are always really loose on the pegs and the guitar goes out of tune every time i play it. Any help appreciated.

You are a legend. But im confused. Is there a reason why he did the 5th string first? Everywhere ive read says its best to do the 1st or 6th string first. Or does it really not matter?

It doesn't matter.

I think maybe that was just the point he got the camera out? It's hard to say but I see no reason for it.

Personally I start at the high e and work my way through, as I normally only change strings sets at a time, I don't really break strings or at least very very rarely.

Yeah even if i do break a string i usually change the whole set otherwise the one string would sound 'newer' and it would be wierd. I was just sick of paying AU$30 everytime i needed to do it so thanks very much for the link.

Not sure what kind of guitar you're using, but if it's of any significant value they say strings should be changed one at a time. In other words, don't take all 6 strings off at once. Take one off, replace it, take the next string off, replace it, etc....

It's better for the neck to have tension on it.

ez_willis said:
Not sure what kind of guitar you're using, but if it's of any significant value they say strings should be changed one at a time. In other words, don't take all 6 strings off at once. Take one off, replace it, take the next string off, replace it, etc....

It's better for the neck to have tension on it.
I agree that is how i do it too. I just meant I change the whole set in one sitting.

Yeah thats what i meant too. I play a les paul so all the bits fall off if i take all the strings off.