can you help straighten me out? another multitrack usb question

rockironwebb

senior newbie caveman
This is a side thread to one I have going on. I am a drummer. I record 7-9 mics at the same time(alesis firewire 16). Every now and then the lazy members of my "band show up, 2 guitars, 1 bass. I am in the process of upgrading everything. Selling the pc I have been using(with firewire) for laptop. seems firewire is hard to come by as well as pc express slots.
I have been searching for the solution. 16 simultaneous channels available to record. Please advise on gear to get it done using usb. maybe I am not reading clearly enough or just not searching right, but I keep finding usb interfaces that claim multitrack, but are 16 X 4 or what ever. I don't dislike firewire, but many of the badass laptops I am interested in (core i7) don't seem to be available with firewire or an express slot. How do YOU do it?
sorry for probably regurgitating this topic. I'm sure some of yall out there are sick of this "simple shit"

I think I am cunfused about how utilizing multiple devices through one interface would work. when still considering sticking with firewire I was advised that something like a firepod linked with a behringer ADA 8000? somthing or rather would work. Does this same concept jive when using usb? for some reason I just don't believe it can be that simple. when doing something like this, when setting up/arming tracks in DAW, do they just all show up as coming from whatever the interface is?

I'm slightly confused by what you're asking but if you only need 16 in's but don't want firewire why not get the Alesis Mutlimix 16 usb and buy some external preamps to utilise all 16 channels?

And yeah, the ADA8000 with a USB interface with an optical in would work fine. one of the main pro's of firewire is the ability to link two cards together using a firewire cable but optical on usb is fine

Hey,
Firepod and ada8000 won't work out that way.