can anyone reccomend headphones?

Layla Nahar

Hi there,

I don't have a studio, I'm really just starting on a lot of music production stuff, and I do a lot of my work on the road (cafes etc) on my laptop. I'd like to invest in a good set of headphones. I think they will be enough while I am still learning, and I'd like to make sure I can get something really decent. I'd be willing to go up to $100, but if possible, I'd rather stick to about $75 (the only tip I have so far is that I should choose phones with high voltage)

thanks so much for your help

Layla Nahar said:
(the only tip I have so far is that I should choose phones with high voltage)

I think you mean high 'impedance'.

The Sony's that are in your price range are decent sounding and well enough built to withstand a little abuse.

Look at the Sony headphones here or as an alternative the AKG K240S are less well built these days but still sound good - see them here.

ssscientist said:
I think you mean high 'impedance'.

The Sony's that are in your price range are decent sounding and well enough built to withstand a little abuse.

Look at the Sony headphones here or as an alternative the AKG K240S are less well built these days but still sound good - see them here.

Impedence makes sense - (its a friend of mine who said "voltage")

thanks for the info about the AKGs being less well built than before, and the sony's being a but more rugged. I've been looking at the Sonys, the AKGs and the Senheissers. Sounds like if I spend about 100$ I'll get decent headphones, no matter which I go with.

Yo,

Senheisers all the way!!
Comfortable and great diaphrams.
You might want to look at a straight chord verses
the coil. The coils tend to grab stuff!

RICKQ said:
Yo,

Senheisers all the way!!
Comfortable and great diaphrams.
You might want to look at a straight chord verses
the coil. The coils tend to grab stuff!

Ha! when would I have thunk of that, without buying. (I was thinking about coils, too!)