Bass guitar sound

Yoosto

Hi all,

I'm quite new at recording and mixing so I would like to hear some suggestion from you regarding the bass guitar sound.

Recently the guitar player of my band invested in a home studio so we started to record some new stuff. I always had a problem with my bass guitar because I could never get the right sound I want out of it. I have a Squier Classic Vibe '60s jazz bass with Seymour Duncan SJB-3 pickups. The sound that I'm longing for should sound something like this: (link from youtube) /watch?v=35XV8UAdBMU

So I know he's using a different bass (Mark Hoppus jazz bass w/ inverted precision pickups) and a different amp than me. But still I can't seem to find a similar tone. His sound is quite defined but with lots of bass. I recorded through a tube preamp and when I'm working on it, it comes out either too trebly or too deep. I just can't find a right ratio of definition and bass. I'm not sure if there is a double bass track with different sounds recorded on this song I posted.

So what are your opinions and do you have any suggestions on how to get a similar tone out of my bass like on this track I posted. I greatly appreciate any comment! :)

P.S. I'm also using Studio One Artist, for whom it may concern. :thumbs up:

Cheers!

How are you recording? DI, mic'd up? The bass in the recording sounded like it was being played with a pick. I'm not a bassist, but I'd guess there's some reverb, chorus, EQ, and compression going on there too.

I'm recording through the DI box. I'm also using a pick and always put some compression on and play with the EQ but haven't tried reverb and chorus yet. Will try that, thanks! But I think that sound mainly depends on a good EQ setting which I just can't seem to figure out.