Bad intonation with compensated nut?

thebigcheese

"Hi, I'm in Delaware."
Help me out here. I bought a Music Man Luke 3 not too long ago and it's my first guitar with a compensated nut. For whatever reason, tonight is the first time I noticed this problem, but for some reason, I can not get the 1st and 2nd strings to sound right together, but they are perfectly in tune when open and at the 12th fret (I am a guitar tech, so I do at least know how to set up a guitar). I have never had this problem with any of my other guitars, which include a Deluxe Strat, a McCarty, an old Gibson, and a custom guitar I put together. None of those have compensated nuts. The only other thing I can think of is that I recently put those new balanced tension D'Addario strings on the Luke, so maybe some of the slightly different gauges are causing weird issues? I can't see why that would matter, though, as I put beefy slinkies on the Gibson so I can tune it low. Am I crazy? Does anyone else have experience with this?

Edit: Also they read perfectly in tune when I'm playing a D chord, which is where I notice it... maybe I am crazy? Somehow it still sounds weird...

Last edited:
I remember once, while i using a yamaha acc i bought new strings & the only ones the shop (yes it was a few years ago!)had was martin & i thought well,"can't go wrong with martin" but i could not do a thing with them,tuning was ALL over the place,went back to the shop a few days later,complained & bought a new set(still had to pay!) put new strings on & presto,,yamaha was back sounding good,,
the ONLY explanation must be; something weird about the combination of martin strings on MY yamaha.
I use martin strings on my martin guitar & absolutely love-em,& the guitar of course.
SO it could well be the different strings when you changed the compensated >!!NUT!! < I just noticed this, don't you mean bridge?:confused:
edit; if you have got a compensated nut,, there's your problem right there?:)