Advice for which mixer to get for DAW?

Coops409

So I'm planning on making a home studio of sorts and am a little unsure about how to go about doing it. I know I want to mix on a DAW (Audacity, SoundBooth, Cubase are at my disposal). I've been looking at the Alesis MultiMix 16USB 2.0 Mixer because it's got 8 channels with preamps and has really everything I want on it to have.

My question is how would I use a board to get signal in to a MacBook so I can mix using the Mac? I don't want to just buy an interface because I'd rather have a board to use later on if I move in to small live shows (house shows, very small venues with no sound systems). I've heard that just using the RCA outputs gives you a 2track to use on your computer but that doesn't get me anywhere. I need to move all the signal coming in to the board in to my computer track-for-track just as it comes in so I can mix it.

Let's see. I'm a college Audio Engineering student so I know my way around a mixing board and around DAWs. I've just never set them up. The MacBook I'm going to be using is a 2007 15inch with 2GB RAM, 250GB Hard Drive with Snow Leopard. I'll have Audacity, Cubase 5, Adobe Audition (Adobe CS5), and if I get the Alesis board Cubase 4 LE.