About to put it together

Roneil76

Ok, such a (noob) I don't even own a single piece of recording equipment. So far I see packages and bundles to get started. That seems good but for the fact that they all seem to lack enough mic preamps to record accustic drums?

I need to record:
Acoustic guitar
Elec guitar
Ukes
Banjo
Harmonica
Acoustic drums (large kit) need at least 5 mics but some songs would require more or less I would think

Price not much issue not that I'm wealthy just sayin don't wanna spend a million dollars on equipment that don't fit my needs nor do I want to cheep out and have same problem...

So I guess in short form I'm askin
What I would need to start up while makin purchases that make sence down the road for what I'm recording?

Packages? Bundles? A good start up?
Are mic preamps expandable?

Sure, I've read but found packages and bundles that, unless mic pre amps are expandable, they won't work for me.

Total noob so if something is "common knowledge" I still don't know it. Lol believe me the terms I've used so far (mic preamp and such) I m only half convinced I know what they actually mean! a 2 mic (audio interface) be expanded? Or any bundles that better suit my immediate needs?

I'm under the impression a "pre amp" is needed for every mic you wish to use to record a single track... I.e : Drums would need more than two for good accuracy? Even on a small 4 piece. But my drum/ percussion kit is large and in some cases I make a lot of use of much of it in which case I'd need at least 5 mics probably more sometimes.

Oh, I get the Noob thing. I like everyone else was there, and I guess I still am in some areas.
You are in a similar situation as I was starting out. Wanting to record my band, either individually or en mass.

A "preamp" is needed for each microphone, but they can be contained in an AI (audio interface). This is assuming you are going to be recording into a computer, not an analog tape machine.