New user, first vocal mix, "Passion Eterna"

Sighborg

Hey folks!

A quick backstory, I've been mixing my own material for about 4 years now and steadily making (slow) progress. I decided this year I would aim for meeting a 2 song per month quota. I am beginning to work with vocalist all over to add diversity to my songs since I write/record all of the material. This is my first song with female vocals. It is a rock song aiming for I guess you would say an "Evanescence" style.

I used a MXL 990 on vocals.
Kemper on guitars and bass.
Superior Drummer on drums.
Mixed in Logic Pro 9.

Any critiques would be greatly appreciated!!

Here's to 2016 and hopeful growth as an engineer and songwriter.

Thank you

https://soundcloud.com/ers3phone/passion-eterna

Sounds promising. The mix is muddy and indistinct. Lyrics are difficult to hear. Vocals up or clear some space for her. The guitars are overly prominent and distract from your singer. Someone else will have to comment on the drums but the levels seem inconsistent to me.

Thanks for the feedback Robus. I will pull the guitars back a few dbs, when you say guitars are you speaking collectively or just the distorted guitars? As far clearing up the muddiness of the mix should I lower the over all low end or pull back the low mids with my multiband compressor?

I'm talking particularly about those distorted rhythm guitars. I can't tell you where to cut specifically. If it were my mix, I'd start by high passing everything that isn't a bass instrument, then looking at the low mids.

Great advice. Thank you. Does anyone else have any input? Particularly the overall volume and drum mix?

I did automate the drums on the verses to help add intensity, this might attribute to the apparent drum inconsistency.