Ringos EQ settingings

gadsworth

Has anyone out there ever tried to reproduce the sound of Ringo's drums on early Beatles songs e.g. With the Beatles. I've been trying just for fun sometimes I think I'm close then I go naaa that's not it. I'm new at this stuff. I use a 1971 set of Ludwig maples with Remo ambassador heads.
and a 2488 Tascam neo. This post is just an academic question to see what others may have found. thanks to all.

For one you'll have to start experimenting with a single LDC out in front of the set and then possible just one other one in the kick. Making it a mono sound scape with the drum set.

Tuning!!! Can't emphasize that enough. Getting it RIGHT at the source of the recording is the key. ;)

I'd bet that there wasn't an EQ used. That kit, in that room, with a D19 or a big ol' AEA ribbon a few feet away.

Yeah, I doubt there was any EQ used on the drums. Just a couple of mics and tea towels (and Ringo's wallet) over the drums. And as with all drummers, most of the Ringo "sound" was Ringo.

At some time or the other I read or heard it mentioned in a documentary, I don't remember which, that in the studio Ringo used real sheep skin heads on his drums, a suggestion by George Martin. I do remember thinking at the time that it was a reliable source. But who knows, could be more Beatle mythology.

At some time or the other I read or heard it mentioned in a documentary, I don't remember which, that in the studio Ringo used real sheep skin heads on his drums, a suggestion by George Martin. I do remember thinking at the time that it was a reliable source. But who knows, could be more Beatle mythology.

Tuning!!! Can't emphasize that enough. Getting it RIGHT at the source of the recording is the key. ;)

Again getting right at the source.
Recording back then was so much ..... better at that then it is nowadays.