Why do I need all this equipment?

Berbo

Yes Im a noob at this, so just bare with me.

with all the advances in home recording technology. Do I need all that equipement on the racks that I saw in a number of pictures posted on this forum. Doesn't that equipment just waste energy/electricity.

From what I read in order to record and prodcue a song all I need is a
-Computer (or laptop) (I have a PC laptop),
-A micrphone (I have a M-Audio producer USB)
-I bought Reason as my DAW (where most of the "eqipment" will be as opposed to the rack of the actual physical hardware)
-I also have a M-audio midi controller
and I'm working on getting an audio interface.\

That's all I need to producer good music, am I right?
-

You need what YOU need. And if you get tracks that are good enough for you, then you're all set. Your ears and experience are your most important tool. That said, good gear makes a hard job a lot easier.

I'm trying to understand what's the diffrences between having all that hardware vs. having a DAW that has all that hardware in the program itself? Will it make a diffrence?

Having decent gear makes a HUGE difference. Good mics, good mic preamps, good converters, plugins won't EVER recreate that.

The only way to understand the differences is by trial and error. Record as much as possible with the gear that you have. By training your ears you will eventually hear the short comings and advantages of various gear.

-

Don't wanna sound like i'm crappin on ya,

BUT.....you need to know how to produce good music.

In comparison to knowledge, skill and experience, the gear is almost irrelevant.

Still though, if you are planning to use that usb mic, you won't need an interface.
An interface provides a link between purely analog microphones, and digital computers. Your usb mic does that already.

I'd recommend adding monitors to the list, and investigating room treatment.
Mixing on bad speakers in a bad room is like painting in a dark room with yellow glasses on.