Clicks - me or my mic?

BlindOptimism

Hi there!

I am a complete amateur when it comes to audio recording, so forgive me if this is a simple problem. I've searched your forums for tips, but either haven't found or haven't understood the solution I need.

I do a lot of video work which requires narration. Until now, I've been using my computer's in-built mic, simply because it has been the simplest solution, but now I'd like to branch out and get a microphone. I'm thinking of a USB Yeti, Snowball or Snowflake.

But before I buy anything, I have a question. I have a huge problem with 'clicks' in my recordings. Currently, I have to edit out all of these clicks in post production, but not only is this (very) time consuming, but I can also lose a lot of content if the click comes at the wrong time (which it often does). I've done a monumental amount of research across the web, but without telling someone my specific problem, I'm apprehensive about spending my cash.

I think the clicks in my audio are mouth noises, but I'm not 100% sure. The reason I think this is because I can record other, non-vocal without too many problems (The quality isn't amazing, as it's an only an inbuilt mic, but at least it's clear and coherent). I don't want to spend a lot of money on a mic and then discover the fault is with me. I've recently started using a popper stopper and that seems to have made a slight difference, but I still have to go through my recordings with a fine-tooth comb. The thing is, the sound quality doesn't have to be radio-DJ quality - I don't have a great voice anyway - I would just like to be able to record without having to worry that the audio will be unusable or take a long time to clean.