Audio Interface Questions

nym15rc

Hey, I am new to recording gear etc. and I wanted to start to get some gear to begin recording my songs. I got a Behringer Audio interface for christmas. It has to input ports and two output ports. Is there any way I can plug my guitar into this or do I need a mixer? Where do I start?

Thank You!

yes you can plug in if your guitar has a line out or you can mic up your guitar

Yo Nym. Welcome to the board! Electric guitars are usually recorded using a nifty device called a "microphone". You *can* plug the guitar directly into the interface if it has an instrument input, called high impedence, or high-z. Then you have to use an amp modeler in the computer recording software to simulate the sound of an amp. The third way, as suggested abnove, is to take a line output from the amp (only if it has a line out) to the line in on the interface. Although some folks, including me, have gotten pretty good sounds using modelers, most folks, including me, prefer to use microphones when possible. There are also outboard mic modelers, such as the Line 6 POD, that can plug into the interface line input, or go directly to the computer by USB. Most engineers, as I said, prefer mics. The good news is that even in big time studios, the favored mics for this are often cheap stage mics, such as Shure SM57. For wicked cheap, Behringer XM8500 isn't bad, about $20 brand new. Just get a mic.-Richie

First off, which Behringer interface do you have? They make several, each with different features. One is guitar/instrument only, at lease one does microphones and there's even one only suitable for plugging your old turntable into. Which you have will make a difference to giving you detailed advice.

That said, there are three basic ways you can record guitar, depending on the facilities your interface has: