Tascam 38 (possibly dumb) worries.

Deaaaath

Hi,
I am new to Analog recording and recently hooked up my Teac model 3 mixer to the Tascam 38. Everything seems to be running smoothly except for when I load the tape into the machine (which for all I know I'm doing poorly) and press play, there is this bothersome clicking noise eminating from the shut off arm. Is that normal or something I should worry about?

Also, am I supposed to use scotch tape or something to keep the tape fixed on the take up reel?

OK, first of all it's very hard to determine just from your description but no, that noise is certainly not normal.

To eliminate the obvious, first make sure you have the tape threaded correctly.* [See photo].

*also make sure that the proper side is in contact with the heads, usually the brown side or lighter side than the solid black [which is the backing].

Also, what exact type of tape are you using?

No need to use tape to secure to take up reel. Just wind it up by hand until it's on there good.

How do you know the clicking noise is coming from the shut off arm? Does it affect the performance or function of the machine? If you had the machine shipped then I'd also assume its been damaged in some way internally.

Is there a way for you to post a short video clip [with sound]?

---

Attachments

• 9bc9f112-d2d5-4240-9a80-79323b816cae_large.jpg
    9bc9f112-d2d5-4240-9a80-79323b816cae_large.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 77
Are you sure it's the shut off arm? I had a clicking noise during "play" suddenly start coming from my Tascam 22 just a week or two ago. I noticed a barely visible indent in the pinch roller causing it to bounce a little on the capstan. The sound was wobbly as well, but it was very slight. Replaced the pinch roller and solved the issue.

Thanks for your responses! I am not home right now but i'll take a look at the pinch roller when i get home. Is the pinch roller something that I can just replace myself easily?