Nakamichi Analogue Cassette Decks

kjbleus

Newbie here, but I've been around the block on the internet for 9 years. I've been using analogue audio for nearly thirty years, and Nakamichi cassette decks for nearly twenty years.

Wondering whom else on the Analog Only BBS has similar interests. Currently listening to Floyd's DSotM album on my Nak 680ZX deck. Cheers....

Newbie here, but I've been around the block on the internet for 9 years. I've been using analogue audio for nearly thirty years, and Nakamichi cassette decks for nearly twenty years.

Wondering whom else on the Analog Only BBS has similar interests. Currently listening to Floyd's DSotM album on my Nak 680ZX deck. Cheers....

hello, mr. bleus!
i follow your nakchat 'forum', which i appreciate having available.
people must have missed this thread, apparently.

for any nakamichi experts:
my nak mr-1, which i got off of ebay 3 weeks ago, in the last 3 days, has started emitting a 'rattling' sound from, it sounds like, the take up reel after being in play for ~35 minutes (with tape being played-which still sounds great!).
if i remove tape and hit 'play', rattling is gone. tried several brands/lengths of tape, no difference.

also, and it may be related, after same amount of time, the rewind (and to a lesser extent) the f forward belts start slipping and whining.

has anyone had a similar experience with an mr-1 and know of cheap easy fix?

as i have very little $ in this so far, i may get belt kit and attempt a fix myself-but i have zero experience working on any kind of recorder-just know how to use them.
or send out to a 'pro' to do the job after i get my akai 630dss rehabbed.

thanks all!

Wow, it has been a few days since I've checked in here.

I've got a Nak MR-2 that a friend gave me about a year or two ago. It sat in his closet for a while. After a good cleaning of the transport, it performs first rate. I consider myself lucky to have the MR-2 along with my Tascam 122b sitting in the same rack.:p