white powder coming out of guitar

random.hero

i was changing the strings on my guitar, then noticed white powder was coming out of the holes when i pulled the strings out (sry im retarded. im primarily a drummer, but guitar is fun too)
just curious guys, what is it and where did it come from?

Last edited:
random.hero said:
i was changing the strings on my guitar, then noticed white powder was coming out of the holes when i pulled the strings out (sry im retarded. im primarily a drummer, but guitar is fun too)

Is it an acoustic guitar? If so it could be sawdust never cleaned out properly.
Without knowing what holes you are talking about, it could also be polish never cleaned out of the machine head posts.

Where are the holes you are talking about??

Did you happen to buy this guitar for VERY cheap from an edgy, paranoid fellow?

If so, you might want to open up the guitar and inspect the internals for suspicious articles, eg: plastic baggies, condoms, or other containers.

I have an Epiphone LP Junior that I swapped the humbucker with a Soapbar and had to route the cavity. It was made of a white composite material similar to a surfboard resin.

Not wood, swear.

It could be polishing compound from the factory when the guitar was made. I've seen that inside the cavity of some guitars when working on them.

I bet the rat is right. Polishing/buffing compound. I've had it in virtually every shitty guitar I ever took apart, which is every guitar I ever owned. :)

ez_willis said:
I have an Epiphone LP Junior that I swapped the humbucker with a Soapbar and had to route the cavity. It was made of a white composite material similar to a surfboard resin.

Not wood, swear.

I have the same guitar. :o

And you're right, it isn't made out of wood, it's like metal or something.

Not a bad guitar though for a first guitar, sounds decent to me. Wish there were 2 pickups though. And yea, wood. That's pretty important.