which Mesa rectifier to buy?

Tommy24

Hello,
Let me start by saying I was an active member years ago, and credit this forum for most of the techniques and wise purchases I had learned over the years. Now, after being away from music for a while I've got the itch again, and want to redo my rig. I mainly want to downsize and play at low to medium volumes. My goal is to play for my personal enjoyment, record again, maybe jam with some friends, but I'd like to maintain a rig that I could use for small shows if I went in that direction. I have limited experience with amps, mainly because I found the tone I loved and never strayed, until now...

Anyway, was wondering if anyone has any thoughts on the best rectifier for me? I like the new Mini's but seems like I can ebay a single (or even a dual) on ebay for about the same price. 50w its probably overkill for me, but does anyone have experience with the Mini's or even maybe the Recto Recording Pre-amp? Can they get the gain that the other heads can? Can you remove tubes from the single recto's and run at half power? Would probably get a 1x12 or 2x12, but the rest of the rig will be determined by what head I get. Thanks!