What is the best keyboard for organic sounds?

Colwarter

Hello everyone,
I really need your help right now! I'm a pianist and never thought I'd play something else than acoustic piano until I got a new band. I really like their stuff. They are playing a kind of weird jazz with a lot of organic sounds like contrabass, accordion, music box, strings, and of course a lot of piano. I'm plannig to buy 2 keyboards: a Nord Electro 2 for grand piano and organ sounds, and a second piano for the organic sounds. I've been looking around, and still don't know which keyboard would fit the most. What do you guys think of the Roland Fantom series? Is there a keyboard with only organic sounds? Please help me. Thank you very much. Alex

Patience dude-- you think this is as busy as the mic board or something?! :D

The "best" organic keyboard is gonna be a highly subjective thing. I have a Fantom X6 to use in my band for the traditional stuff, having come from analog synths in the past, and it suits me well. Others would probably argue that it's not as good as some others, but for the price I'm happy.

I would suggest that you go to your local music store and try as many synths as you can. It sounds like what you're looking for is a sample-playback sort of keyboard, like a Roland Fantom, Yamaha Motif, or Korg Triton. There are a few others (Kurzweil, Alesis, etc) that are also probably worth checking out.

If you're primarily playing, then the sequencer/workstation stuff as well as drums and user sampling, are likely a secondary concern. Focus on the action of the keys themselves and the sounds from the keyboard-- they're what you're going to live with daily. And if you're planning on the Nord, then piano and organ sounds in this second board are also not terribly important.