What is the best combo micpre/DI?

bishop55

Hey folks,
A newbie here.
What is the best solution for someone with about one hundred dollars and an abiding love for the bass guitar and singing to use for recording bass and vocals onto a hard disk (pc) multitrack setup?

I have a (low-end but) decent soundcard and some good software. Now I need a solution that will allow me to record vocals and to lay down bass tracks. I have looked at the M-Audio Audio Buddy and the ART Tube MP or something like that.
Is this good stuff?
Will I also need an A/D convertor or can I just plug these puppies up and start recording?

bishop55 said:
I have looked at the M-Audio Audio Buddy and the ART Tube MP or something like that.

Is this good stuff?

Either should work fine. Can't remember for sure if the Audio Buddy has 1/4" inputs or not. If so, then you're good to go.

Will I also need an A/D convertor or can I just plug these puppies up and start recording?

Just plug 'em in and have at it.

Re: Re: What is the best combo micpre/DI?

chessrock said:
Either should work fine. Can't remember for sure if the Audio Buddy has 1/4" inputs or not. If so, then you're good to go.
Yes, it has.

Dot said:
Get a Behringer MIC2200 Ultragain Pro. 2 Channel w/ EQ and $99 at Musician's Friend. Real XLR outs and its own internal power supply. Best low-budget 2-channel pre out there, IMO. Much better than the Audio Buddy.

Dan Richards
Digital Pro Sound
The Listening Sessions

Dot--

I can't wait to try out the Behringer you're sending me. I'll know immediately if it's better than the Audio Buddy. I love the Audio Buddy but something better in that price range would be fantastic.

Steve, publisher of Mojo Pie
www.piemusic.com

I can't help but get a kick out of seeing guys with Syteks and Grace Designs getting all excited about a $100 Behringer. :D :D :D