What is causing Zoom F8 glitches? (Resolved)

pasternak

Update: The cards both failed the third full length test after passing the first two. So I am pretty certain the cards are the problem. Must be an intermittent issue. I’d delete this query if I didn’t think doing so might wreak havoc with the order of things here.
———-

Hi- First post here. I’m a musician, not a recording engineer. Please bear with me while grope for the words to describe my issue.

I’m using the F8 & FRC8 to record jazz quartet rehearsals (piano/ guitar /bass/ drums). Using all 8 tracks (condenser mics), two SanDisk 80mbs 64 SDXC.

Something is corrupting 3 or 4 of every dozen polywaves produced each session. All 8 tracks are skipping at once periodically (Imagine bumping the arm of a turntable so that the needle jumps ahead a few grooves on a vinyl record. This is what it sounds like). The skips occur when I sample a polywave with QuickTime. And the skips occur in the same spots after I open the polywaves in Logic Pro X. It follows, I am fairly certain the F8 and not the old MacBook Pro I’m mixing on is the source of the problem.

Both SD cards passed the long test on the f8. But I still feel the card is the culprit. But thought I’d ask for help here before I buy new cards. Does anyone recognize this issue and know how to fix it? Can any one recommend a current available 64gb card that works well with the f8? Thanks for reading this enormous query!

Last edited:
I wonder what the write speed is needed for the F8 with all 8 tracks being written. What bit depth/sample rate are you recording?

It looks like the way to go is the new UHS class 3 is supposed to write up to 30Mb/s, which is triple what is spec'd for Class10 cards. Unfortunately, most SD card manufacturers don't specify write speed, just read.