What amp to upgrade get? (from Ultimate Chorus)

mykie_a

well, my trusty ultimate chorus has finally blown and i'm not going to fix it.

I need something a little bit louder but just as trusty. I really dug the versatility, especially the ability to set different reverb levels between the two channels. I also really liked the clean channel. I really didn't use the chorus much at all compared to my TS-9 pedal. I found the distortion channel was lacking , but only a little...still fully acceptable. I will truly miss this amp!

Now, what to get?!

I have some experience with my brothers Mesa Nomad 100 head through a LIne 6 (4 12's) cab, but find that he has to replace the tubes too often (perhaps 3x a year?). It's not that I am against tubes, it's just that the solid state electronics of the Ultimate Chorus needed a cleaning once . . . in perhaps 8 years? His footpedal switch is already starting to fall apart and the cable to it was just replaced too. Perhaps just bad luck?

Also I find his rig a little overkill for my likes, however, I would still consider getting a cab and head if I was truly blown away tho. The Ultimate was nearly loud enough (or it wouldn't have blown!) for the smaller bar/pub gigs anyway (most of them mic'd thru their house system regardless).

My music is kinda rock meets jazz with some awkward change ups added in. I play a Gibson Les Paul Classic mostly in the bass position (stock pickups). I also never really crank'd the distortion on the Ultimate except for a song or two every once in awhile in a live (gig) setting. The only other pedals (I barely use) are a wah, a mini volume pedal (for solos) and a delay. Here's a link to a few of my bands tunes

http://www.myspace.com/rhythmmethodproject

I'm hoping someone can provide some insight into my dilemma , perhaps someone that has upgraded along the same path? Recommendations? My budget is around $600 and used! (read Craigslist) as I am inbetween real jobs at the moment.