Upgrading from a usb AT2020 Microphone?

andreskim

Hello! So heres the situation, I currently have a AT2020 usb microphone. I was thinking of upgrading my mic to a XLR + USB interface. Right now I'm looking at the Blue microphone spark with a ART dual preamp USB. If i were to upgrade to that setup, will there be a big difference in the sound quality? By the way, I am an amateur still in high school and the AT2020 was the first mic i ever purchased so i have no idea how XLRS with preamps sound like compared to USB mics. If you guys have any other suggestions for a cheap setup please feel free to recommend. Do note that I am on a tight budget (200ish range)

I will also be using the mic mostly for recording vocals and acoustics (For youtube)

The mic maybe, the interface maybe not. Although probably not any worse than the ADC with most USB mics. It will open up some options. Like putting a higher end preamp between the mic and interface. But I haven't really been impressed with Arts low end preamps (< $100 a channel).

Given that the spark is supposed to run $200-ish by itself, I think that you've already blown your budget. (taxes + shipping + ....). And don't forget that you'll need an XLR cable for the XLR mic. i.e. More $$$. It just came out so I wouldn't expect too many on the used market (yet).

could you guys recommend decent but not overly expensive interfaces along with a combination of a mic that will be around 250? And also is it because it's a usb that the ART preamp is a bad interface? or is it because the ART preamp is just bad in general. I know theres also firewire but i dont really quite understand the setup necessary to connect it to your computer.

It's mostly because I've never heard of the Art USB interface. And I've had their $30-ish (used to be $90-ish) Art Tube MP preamp and it mostly sucked.