Tubes for an Ampeg Tube Combo Amp?

Mongoo

My Ampeg Combo Amp is making a hissing noise. It's not really bad, but not good either you know. Close micing it picks it up. I had it in for repair a while ago cause one of the tubes went, and money was tight then so I only had one replaced and he put in a different sized tube (the amp has a bunch of little tubes deep inside it, and then two main tubes towards the back). The guy said it needed a tune up, stating the connector was loose etc.

Anyways, I want to record with it now and suppose I should really have it fixed up with matching tubes and whatever else has to happen to fix the noise issue. I have zero knowledge of the different effects different tubes have on an amp. Should I be considering getting something specific if I have it tuned up or just let him use whatever? Anything you'd recommend, and why, whats it do for the sound? I play alternative'esk music. A lot of Clean to Distortion, back to clean to distortion etc. Like Nirvana but different just the same. You can check out some of the music at http://myspace.com/chrisciccone if that helps you get any ideas.

Thanks for your thoughts

I'd want to know which Ampeg amp first off.