the big recording question

jonjon123

Hi all,

Im a newbie at this and some some questions regarding home recording. I notice home recordings usually sound "empty".., compared to a CD you buy at a store....is this because it is professionally mixed with high tech equipment. I use a vs840...and no matter how i mix it, it'll never sound like something you get from listening to a cd bought at the store.

What does it take to get that quality ? Even if you listen to a 3 piece band, like blink 182 or greenday, their quality is so much richer.

thanks

Try

Good sound cards are important, the RME multi-face is a hot product, and grab izotope ozone, that software rocks, i was a newb at mastering, loaded some old recordings, followed their quick tip and it made the quality 60% better..

I highly reccomend Izotpe to any newb, its well explained and gives you some presets..

Well worth the money..

Dont be fooled, its not what your recording to its your technique and how you manage the signal.

You can acheive good results with minimalist equipment.
Like for example; those bands you mentioned have propably doubled the guitar tracks and opened up the panning, tricks like these can fill out a mix.

The guitars are usally mic'd too(the cabs of course unless its an acoustic) and they run through nice amps that sound hot, if the source of what you recording sounds good then you %90 of the way there (sometimes that requires talent!).
Dont expect to take a crappy sounding signal and turn it into somthing special, you can, but its difficult to do.

Of course running the signal thru thousands of dollars worth of equipment helps too!! :):)

<MiXit-G said; Dont be fooled, its not what your recording to its your technique and how you manage the signal. >