The Basic Basics of MIDI

HRmusic90

21st Century Digital Boy
So, I'm pretty new to MIDI in general. I've been playing guitar for years, but only recently got a keyboard controller - the Akai Max25. I've been trying my best to research and get the hang of the lingo, but I can't seem to find anything that sorts it out well. All the sites that I look at throw around the terminology as if I already know what it means.
For example, what are the differences between programs, banks and patches? It makes it confusing for me when every source mentions that "drums are typically channel 10", but sound map listings show 10 as "Glockenspiel". Which 10 applies to which??

I've been trying my best to research and get the hang of the lingo, but I can't seem to find anything that sorts it out well. All the sites that I look at throw around the terminology as if I already know what it means.

MIDI was invented in the 1970s by real nerds with pocket protectors; you won't find anything 'easy'.

Amazon has a number of basic midi books (look around in your local bookstore too)

Tweak's MIDI basics is still up, but he passed away a few years ago and isn't updating his site anymore.

Gecko's link to Sound-on-Sound magazine is good start; they have a TON of issues on line you can search through with VERY good articles.

Thank you for that. That was helpful, but I still feel uncertain about some things. From what I get from the article, it sounds like "program" means the same thing as "patch", so a program change really means a patch change. And it sounds like "banks" contain "patches". Is that right?

Last edited:
MIDI was invented in the 1970s by real nerds with pocket protectors; you won't find anything 'easy'.

Amazon has a number of basic midi books (look around in your local bookstore too)

Tweak's MIDI basics is still up, but he passed away a few years ago and isn't updating his site anymore.