Suggestions for treatment of very unusual room

Capt Dunsel

After reading all the posts I could find about unusual shaped rooms, I haven't seen one where the walls are as convoluted as mine are. I am attaching a diagram of the room and the ceiling heights.

room.jpg

My question is: in a situation like this, what would be a good way to balance out just the monitoring area with some acoustic treatment? I've just started mixing and it seems that they tend to come out slightly bass heavy when played back on other equipment.

For example, what kind of results could I expect if I put a bass trap above the desk, and put a few Mini-Traps on stands behind the listening position, say, in a "U" shape configuration?

I'm not a professional by any stretch of the imagination, but I would like to get better frequency balance in the listening area.

Any thoughts you may have on this would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Thanks for the link. That's quite a comprehensive site, but a little too intense for my needs. I'm just an amateur trying to do small demo projects for some of the bands I play with, and other friends.

I downloaded a test tone generator, and found I have a serious standing wave at 100 Hz right in my listening position (I'm talking total cancellation!) I'm not really concerned with the rest of the room, as I'm the only one mixing.

Anyone else want to take a stab at it?

Thanks again!

Is one or more of your room dimensions either 11.3 feet or 22.6 feet?

(Sorry if that's too intense for ya :=) Steve

knightfly said:
Is one or more of your room dimensions either 11.3 feet or 22.6 feet?

(Sorry if that's too intense for ya :=) Steve

OWWWW....MY BRAIN!!!!! :D