stumped. and pulling hair out.

HazardX

hello, I'm having a lot of trouble trying to get the desired result out of my equipment, and unfortunately, i'm VERY new to this stuff, so please bear with me.

what i have:

hardware:
Athlon xp3200
512mb dual channel pc3200
asus a7n8x-e (w/ on-board nvidia sound)
terratec ews88d
d/a converter
line6 POD

software:
windows xp pro
sonar producer edition
gigastudio 160 v2.54
soundforge 7.0

what i want to happen:
gigastudio-sampling (obvious)
sonar-to sequence samples/midi/audio (obvious again)
soundforge-record/edit audio
*and have it all come out of the same set of speakers either out of the on-board sound, or system-out on ews88d :)

setup:
guitar into line6 pod. POD into d/a converter (1/4" L/R out of pod into RCA L/R in on converter) converter to optical in on ews88d via lightpipe.

my progress is: i've been able to record into sonar/cakewalk, but i can only hear what i've recorded on playback, not while i'm recording, or testing meters. i have gigastudio working with cakewalk, but the output is going to waveplay 1/2 in the ews88d control panel, no idea on how to make it so i can hear it.

anyone know how to get sonar/gigastudio/ews88d to play nice?
what should my settings be? (in windows, sonar, gigastudio, and the ews88d control panel.) I've tried several different combinations, but they're all guesses at best.
do i need any additional equipment? (please note that my budget is stretched quite a bit just trying to get all of this stuff, so be gentle :)

any assistance would be greatly appreciated ;)

Most soundcards have a control panel setting that allows you to echo the Line In back to the output so you can monitor what's going in. That's what you want to do.

What are you listening to? If the inputs are coming in the Terratec but your output is going out via the on-board sound, there's no way you can hear what's coming in the Terratec's input.

This might be your issue with Gigastudio too...